Built in four phases from 1858 to 1976, the Mitchell County Courthouse has special unique architectural significance. Its use of monumental Greek and Greek Revival Temple style is rare in Iowa public buildings. The building became the permanent courthouse in 1870. The first phase of the building, constructed in 1858-60, is of brick construction resting on a stone basement. There are Doric columns framing the portico. There are other influences in the architecture including some use of contemporary Italianate and Gothic influences. Facing North on a city block, green space, and large, aged hardwood trees surround this building. The County Sheriff and Jail building share the east quarter of that county property. Windows throughout the building are double-hung sash finished with triangular headed stone lintels, flush with the wall. The second floor windows are tall, narrow, and floor-length.
The original plan was straightforward. A wide central corridor runs the entire length of the building. The stairs to the second floor are located to the rear (south end) of the corridor. County offices are located on each side of the first floor corridor. The second floor houses a 48 by 44-foot courtroom, with